UR5e vs Standard Bots Spark: Cobot Comparison of Payload, Precision and Price
The Universal Robots UR5e and the Standard Bots Spark weigh almost the same and fit on a bench. The Spark carries 2 kg more, reaches a little further, repeats more tightly and costs about 16% less. The UR5e publishes speed and protection data and has a built-in force/torque sensor.
Quick verdict. The Standard Bots Spark offers more on paper for less, with 7 kg payload, 900 mm reach, ±0.025 mm repeatability and a listed price about 16% lower. The UR5e is the better choice when force control, published speed and IP data and the UR+ ecosystem matter.
UR5e and Standard Bots Spark at a glance
The UR5e carries 5 kg over 850 mm, repeats to ±0.03 mm and weighs 20.6 kg.
The Standard Bots Spark carries 7 kg over 900 mm, repeats to ±0.025 mm and weighs 21 kg on a base under 200 mm across.
Main specification comparison
Specification | Universal Robots UR5e | Standard Bots Spark |
Brand | Universal Robots | Standard Bots |
Listed price | $35,000 | $29,500 |
Payload | 5 kg | 7 kg |
Reach | 850 mm | 900 mm |
Repeatability | ±0.03 mm | ±0.025 mm |
Axes | 6 | Not specified |
Speed | 180°/s maximum joint speed on all six joints | Not specified |
Arm weight | 20.6 kg | 21 kg |
IP rating | IP54 | Not specified |
Footprint | Ø149 mm | Under 200 mm diameter |
Price comparison

UR5e: listed from $35,000
Standard Bots Spark: listed from $29,500
Difference: $5,500
The Spark costs roughly 16% less
Payload, reach and precision
The Spark carries 7 kg, 2 kg more, and reaches 900 mm, 50 mm more than the UR5e. Standard Bots publishes ±0.025 mm repeatability against ±0.03 mm. Both arms weigh about 21 kg.
Programming and lab use

The Spark is programmed without code through the Standard Bots app and runs quietly, typically below 58 dB. It is designed, assembled and shipped from Glen Cove, New York, and suits small-part handling, assembly, inspection and laboratory work. Standard Bots had not published a linear speed when our review was written.
Sensing, data and ecosystem
The UR5e has a built-in 50 N / 10 Nm force/torque sensor and 17 configurable safety functions, is rated IP54 and runs PolyScope with PROFINET, EtherNet/IP, Modbus TCP, ROS/ROS2 and UR+ accessories. Its speed and protection data are fully documented.
Best applications for the UR5e

Force-controlled screwdriving
Machine tending in existing UR cells
Packaging with UR+ tools
Best applications for the Standard Bots Spark
Small-part handling and assembly
Laboratory automation
Fast no-code deployment
UR5e advantages

Built-in force/torque sensor
Published speed and IP data
UR+ ecosystem
UR5e limitations
About $5,500 higher listed price
5 kg payload
Standard Bots Spark advantages
7 kg payload and 900 mm reach
±0.025 mm repeatability
About 16% lower listed price
Standard Bots Spark limitations
Speed and IP rating not published
Final verdict
Choose the Standard Bots Spark for payload, precision and price with no-code setup. Choose the UR5e for force control and fully documented specifications.
Sources and further reading
Frequently asked questions
Which is cheaper, the UR5e or the Standard Bots Spark?
The Standard Bots Spark is listed from $29,500 and the UR5e from $35,000, a difference of $5,500.
Which robot carries more?
The Standard Bots Spark carries 7 kg and the UR5e 5 kg.
Which robot has the longer reach?
The Standard Bots Spark reaches 900 mm and the UR5e 850 mm.
Which robot is more precise?
The Standard Bots Spark publishes ±0.025 mm repeatability and the UR5e ±0.03 mm.
Do they weigh the same?
Almost. The UR5e weighs 20.6 kg and the Spark 21 kg.
Which robot should I buy?
Choose the Spark for payload and price. Choose the UR5e for force control and documented specifications.



