UR3e vs DOBOT CR3L: 3 kg Cobot Comparison of Reach, Price and Availability
Both the Universal Robots UR3e and the DOBOT CR3L carry 3 kg, but they suit very different cells. The CR3L is the long-arm version of the DOBOT CR3, with a 1700 mm reach, and costs about a third less. The UR3e is a compact, current model with fully documented precision, speed and protection data.
Quick verdict. The DOBOT CR3L is the better fit for light handling across a large area, with 1700 mm reach and a listed price about 34% lower, but it is no longer part of the current DOBOT range. The UR3e is the better choice for compact production cells, with ±0.03 mm repeatability, an 11.2 kg arm, a built-in force/torque sensor and long-term support.
UR3e and DOBOT CR3L at a glance
The UR3e carries 3 kg over 500 mm, repeats to ±0.03 mm and weighs 11.2 kg.
The DOBOT CR3L carries 3 kg over a maximum reach of 1700 mm, as stated in DOBOT's launch announcement.
Main specification comparison
Specification | Universal Robots UR3e | DOBOT CR3L |
Brand | Universal Robots | DOBOT |
Listed price | $33,800 | $22,200 |
Payload | 3 kg | 3 kg |
Reach | 500 mm | 1700 mm |
Repeatability | ±0.03 mm | Not specified |
Axes | 6 | 6 |
Speed | 3 m/s maximum TCP speed | Not specified |
Arm weight | 11.2 kg | Not specified |
IP rating | IP54 | Not specified |
Price comparison

UR3e: listed from $33,800
DOBOT CR3L: listed from $22,200
Difference: $11,600
The CR3L costs roughly 34% less
Reach and working area
The CR3L reaches 1700 mm, more than three times the UR3e's 500 mm. DOBOT built it for light assembly, inspection and pick-and-place that need more reach than the standard CR3. One CR3L can serve a wide conveyor or several stations; the UR3e is sized for a single bench or inside a machine.
Availability and support

The CR3L is no longer part of the current DOBOT product range; the CR series has been succeeded by the CRA series. Spare parts and long-term support should be checked before buying. The UR3e is a current model with the UR+ ecosystem and a wide integrator base.
Interfaces and features
The CR3L lists TCP/IP, Modbus TCP, Wi-Fi, EtherCAT, an RS485 tool interface and 16 digital inputs plus 16 configurable digital I/O. The UR3e has a built-in ±30 N / ±10 Nm force/torque sensor, a 3 m/s maximum tool speed, IP54 and PROFINET with PROFIsafe, EtherNet/IP, Modbus TCP and ROS/ROS2.
Best applications for the UR3e

Compact benchtop assembly
Force-controlled insertion
Robots inside machines
Best applications for the DOBOT CR3L
Light pick-and-place over a large area
Inspection across wide fixtures
Budget pilot setups
UR3e advantages

±0.03 mm repeatability
Built-in force/torque sensor
Current model with UR+ ecosystem
UR3e limitations
500 mm reach
About $11,600 higher listed price
DOBOT CR3L advantages
1700 mm reach
About 34% lower listed price
EtherCAT and Wi-Fi connectivity
DOBOT CR3L limitations
No longer in the current DOBOT range
Final verdict
Choose the DOBOT CR3L for light handling over a large area on a budget, where long-term availability is not critical. Choose the UR3e for compact, precise production cells with long-term support.
Sources and further reading
Frequently asked questions
Which is cheaper, the UR3e or the DOBOT CR3L?
The CR3L is listed from $22,200 and the UR3e from $33,800, a difference of $11,600.
Do both robots carry 3 kg?
Yes. Both are rated for 3 kg.
Which robot has the longer reach?
The CR3L reaches up to 1700 mm and the UR3e 500 mm.
Is the DOBOT CR3L still in production?
The CR3L is no longer part of the current DOBOT product range; the CR series has been succeeded by the CRA series.
Which robot is more precise?
The UR3e publishes ±0.03 mm repeatability; the reviewed CR3L specification does not list a repeatability figure.
Which robot should I buy?
Choose the CR3L for reach on a budget. Choose the UR3e for compact production cells.



