UR3e vs DOBOT CR3A: 3 kg Cobot Comparison of Price, Specs and Applications
The UR3e is Universal Robots' smallest and lightest arm, built for benchtop assembly, testing and precision handling. The DOBOT CR3A targets the same 3 kg payload class with a longer reach, tighter published repeatability and a lower listed price.
This comparison uses manufacturer specifications and publicly listed U.S. prices to show how the two arms differ and which applications suit each.
Quick verdict. The UR3e is the better fit for compact benchtop cells that need a light arm, infinite wrist rotation, built-in force sensing and the UR ecosystem. The DOBOT CR3A is the better value when reach and price matter, offering 120 mm more reach and ±0.02 mm repeatability for roughly two-thirds of the UR3e's listed price.
UR3e and DOBOT CR3A at a glance

Both robots are six-axis collaborative arms rated for 3 kg. The UR3e reaches 500 mm from an Ø128 mm base and weighs 11.2 kg, which makes it easy to mount on benches, carts and inside machines. Universal Robots also offers the arm as the UR3e-540 with its newer CB7 controller.
The CR3A belongs to DOBOT's CRA series. It reaches 620 mm, weighs 16.5 kg and uses a standalone safety controller rated PLd Category 3. It is programmed with DobotStudio Pro from a phone, tablet, PC or optional teach pendant.
Main specification comparison
Specification | Universal Robots UR3e | DOBOT CR3A |
Robot type | 6-axis collaborative robot | 6-axis collaborative robot |
Published price (U.S.) | $33,011 (with control box and teach pendant) | $22,322 |
Rated payload | 3 kg | 3 kg |
Reach | 500 mm | 620 mm |
Repeatability | ±0.03 mm (ISO 9283) | ±0.02 mm |
Maximum TCP speed | 3 m/s | 3 m/s |
Joint speed | 180°/s on base, shoulder and elbow; 360°/s on wrists | 180°/s on J1–J2; 223°/s on J3–J6 |
Joint range | ±360° on five joints; infinite on wrist 3 | ±360° on five joints; ±155° on J3 |
Arm weight | 11.2 kg (including cable) | 16.5 kg |
Footprint | Ø128 mm | Not specified in manufacturer data |
Protection rating | Arm IP54, control box IP44 | IP54 |
Noise | Below 60 dB(A) | Not specified in manufacturer data |
Power | 300 W maximum | 120 W |
Force sensing | Built-in 6-axis force/torque sensor at the tool flange | Collision detection; optional SafeSkin pre-collision sensing |
Safety | 23 configurable safety functions; EN ISO 13849-1 PLd Cat. 3; EN ISO 10218-1 | Standalone safety controller PLd Cat. 3; 20+ safety functions; ISO 13849-1, ISO 10218-1, ISO/TS 15066 |
Tool I/O | 2 DI, 2 DO, 2 AI or 1 AI + RS485; 12/24 V, 600 mA | 2 DI, 2 DO, 2 AI (AI shared with RS485) |
Controller I/O | 16 DI, 16 DO, 2 AI, 2 AO, 4 quadrature inputs | 16 DI, 16 configurable DI/DO, 2 AI/AO, ABZ encoder input |
Industrial protocols | Modbus TCP, EtherNet/IP, PROFINET with PROFIsafe, ROS/ROS2 | Modbus TCP/RTU, EtherNet/IP, PROFINET, TCP/IP, Wi-Fi |
Programming | 12-inch teach pendant with PolyScope | DobotStudio Pro (blocks and Lua scripting) on phone, tablet, PC or 10.1-inch pendant; hand-guided teaching |
Arm cable | 6 m | 5 m |
Mounting | Any orientation | Any orientation |
Warranty | Confirm with the selling distributor | 1 year |
Best overall advantage | Light weight, infinite wrist, force sensing, ecosystem | Reach, repeatability, price, low power |
Price comparison
Universal Robots sells through distributors and does not publish a global list price. Vention, a U.S. automation supplier, lists the UR3e at $33,011, shipped with its control box and teach pendant. RobotShop's U.S. store lists the DOBOT CR3A at $22,322, and Top 3D Shop lists it at $22,200.
UR3e: $33,011
DOBOT CR3A: $22,322
Difference: $10,689
The UR3e listing is about 1.5 times the CR3A price
The CR3A costs roughly 32% less
These are hardware prices and exclude grippers, vision, fixtures, integration and shipping. The gap is smaller than in many cobot comparisons, so the decision depends more on specifications and ecosystem than on price alone. The UR3e's price includes a built-in force/torque sensor and native PROFINET and EtherNet/IP, which can reduce add-on costs in some projects.
Payload
Both robots are rated for 3 kg, so payload is not a differentiator. The usable load still depends on the center of gravity and reach. A light electric gripper plus a small camera can take 0.6–1.2 kg of that budget, so both arms are best suited to small parts, electronics, lab samples and light tools.
Reach and workspace
The CR3A reaches 620 mm, 120 mm more than the UR3e's 500 mm. That is about 24% more reach, which can let one robot serve a wider tray, two test fixtures or a small conveyor and a fixture from one position.
The UR3e's shorter reach is deliberate. It keeps the arm compact and light enough to sit inside test equipment or on a crowded bench. Its last wrist joint also rotates infinitely, which is useful for screwdriving and other tasks that need continuous rotation.
Repeatability and precision

The CR3A publishes ±0.02 mm repeatability and the UR3e ±0.03 mm, tested to ISO 9283. Both are well suited to electronics handling, small-part assembly and laboratory automation. Real accuracy also depends on fixtures, tool stiffness, calibration and temperature, so precision-critical tasks should be validated with the actual tool.
Speed and cycle time
Both robots list a maximum tool speed of 3 m/s. The UR3e's wrist joints rotate at up to 360°/s, which helps fast reorientation of small tools. The CR3A's joints 3 to 6 reach 223°/s. In collaborative operation the risk assessment usually sets the practical speed limit, so cycle-time trials with the real tool are the best way to compare.
Weight, mounting and power
The UR3e weighs 11.2 kg, about 5.3 kg less than the CR3A's 16.5 kg. The lighter arm is easier to mount on carts, overhead structures and inside machines, and needs a less substantial stand.
The CR3A is rated at 120 W and runs from a 48 V DC supply, while the UR3e lists a 300 W maximum. The CR3A's lower power draw and DC architecture can suit mobile platforms and battery-powered cells.
Safety and force sensing
Both robots publish strong safety packages. The UR3e has 23 configurable safety functions certified to EN ISO 13849-1, PLd Category 3, and complies with EN ISO 10218-1. The CR3A uses a standalone safety controller rated PLd Category 3 with more than 20 safety functions, and DOBOT states certification to ISO 13849-1, ISO 10218-1 and ISO/TS 15066 for the CRA series.
The UR3e adds a built-in six-axis force/torque sensor at the tool flange, rated to ±30 N and ±10 Nm, which supports force-controlled insertion and assembly without extra hardware. The CR3A offers five adjustable collision-detection levels, a fast-acting brake and optional SafeSkin pre-collision sensing.
Controller, programming and connectivity
Universal Robots UR3e

The UR3e uses a 12-inch teach pendant running PolyScope. Its control box provides 16 digital inputs, 16 digital outputs, 2 analog inputs, 2 analog outputs and 4 quadrature inputs, with Modbus TCP, EtherNet/IP, PROFINET with PROFIsafe and ROS/ROS2 supported.
DOBOT CR3A
The CR3A is programmed with DobotStudio Pro, which combines graphical blocks with Lua scripting and runs on a phone, tablet or PC, with a 10.1-inch teach pendant available. Hand-guided teaching makes point recording quick. Modbus TCP/RTU, EtherNet/IP and PROFINET are supported, along with TCP/IP and Wi-Fi.
Best applications for the UR3e
Benchtop assembly of small components
Screwdriving with continuous wrist rotation
Force-controlled insertion and part fitting
Testing and inspection inside compact equipment
Mounting on carts, machines or overhead structures
Lines that rely on PROFINET or EtherNet/IP
Best applications for the DOBOT CR3A
Small-part pick-and-place over a wider work area
Electronics handling and inspection
Laboratory and sample handling
Education and training cells
Mobile or DC-powered platforms
Budget-conscious deployments of several arms
UR3e advantages

11.2 kg arm, 5.3 kg lighter than the CR3A
Infinite rotation on the last wrist joint
Built-in six-axis force/torque sensor
360°/s wrist joint speed
Quieter, below 60 dB(A)
Native PROFINET with PROFIsafe
Large UR+ ecosystem and integrator network
UR3e limitations
500 mm reach
About 1.5 times the listed price of the CR3A
Looser published repeatability (±0.03 mm)
Larger control box and higher maximum power
DOBOT CR3A advantages
620 mm reach
±0.02 mm published repeatability
Listed about $10,700 below the UR3e
120 W power consumption and 48 V DC supply
PLd Cat. 3 safety controller
App, tablet and PC programming with hand guiding
DOBOT CR3A limitations
16.5 kg arm weight
No built-in force/torque sensor
Narrower range on joint 3
Fewer published environmental details
Smaller third-party accessory ecosystem
Final verdict
Choose the UR3e when the cell is compact, the arm must be light, the task needs continuous wrist rotation or force-controlled assembly, or the project benefits from UR+ accessories and broad integrator support.
Choose the DOBOT CR3A when reach, repeatability and budget are the priorities. Its 620 mm reach and ±0.02 mm repeatability make it a strong option for small-part handling, electronics, laboratory work and education at a lower listed price.
Both robots are mature 3 kg options. For simple benchtop pick-and-place, either will do the job, and the final choice usually comes down to reach, weight and the value of the UR ecosystem.
Read our full UR3e review and our DOBOT CR3 review, or compare the UR5e vs UFACTORY 850.
Sources
Frequently asked questions
Which is cheaper, the UR3e or the DOBOT CR3A?
RobotShop lists the CR3A at $22,322 in the U.S. Vention lists the UR3e at $33,011, including the control box and teach pendant.
Do both robots have the same payload?
Yes. Both are rated for 3 kg.
Which robot has the longer reach?
The DOBOT CR3A reaches 620 mm, 120 mm more than the UR3e's 500 mm.
Which robot is more repeatable?
The CR3A publishes ±0.02 mm and the UR3e ±0.03 mm.
Which robot is lighter?
The UR3e weighs 11.2 kg including its cable. The CR3A weighs 16.5 kg.
Which robot is faster?
Both list a 3 m/s maximum tool speed. The UR3e's wrist joints rotate at up to 360°/s and the CR3A's joints 3 to 6 at up to 223°/s.
Does either robot have built-in force sensing?
The UR3e has a built-in six-axis force/torque sensor. The CR3A relies on collision detection, with optional SafeSkin pre-collision sensing.
Are both robots safety rated?
Yes. Both publish PLd Category 3 safety functions. DOBOT states certification to ISO 13849-1, ISO 10218-1 and ISO/TS 15066 for the CRA series.
Can the UR3e rotate its wrist continuously?
Yes. The UR3e's last wrist joint has infinite rotation, which suits screwdriving and similar tasks.
How is the DOBOT CR3A programmed?
With DobotStudio Pro on a phone, tablet, PC or 10.1-inch pendant, using graphical blocks, Lua scripting or hand-guided teaching.
Which robot should I buy?
Choose the UR3e for compact, light installations, force sensing and the UR ecosystem. Choose the CR3A for longer reach, tighter repeatability and a lower listed price.





