UR5e vs UFACTORY 850: UR7e (Formerly UR5e) Compared on Price, Specs and Applications
The UR5e has been the reference point for 5 kg collaborative robots for years. Universal Robots now sells the same 850 mm arm as the UR7e, which the company describes as the next evolution of the UR5e, with the rated payload raised to 7.5 kg. The UFACTORY 850 targets the same 850 mm working envelope at a fraction of the price, with a 5 kg payload and tighter published repeatability.
This comparison sets the two arms side by side using manufacturer specifications and publicly listed U.S. prices, then looks at where each one fits best.
Quick verdict. The UR7e (formerly UR5e) is the stronger choice when payload headroom, speed, certified safety functions, built-in force sensing and a large accessory ecosystem matter most. The UFACTORY 850 is the stronger value choice for budget-sensitive cells, research and education, and multi-robot deployments, with better published repeatability at roughly a quarter of the listed price.
UR5e, UR7e and the UFACTORY 850 at a glance

Buyers searching for the UR5e will find that new units are now offered as the UR7e. The published arm data is the same in the areas that shape most project decisions: 850 mm reach, ±0.03 mm repeatability, 20.6 kg arm weight and ±360° on every joint. The main change is the rated payload, which rises from 5 kg to 7.5 kg. That makes the UR7e the fair like-for-like competitor for the UFACTORY 850 today.
The UFACTORY 850 is a six-axis arm with a 5 kg payload and 850 mm reach. UFACTORY positions it as its most capable cobot for industrial use, with an aluminum and carbon-fiber structure, a web-based programming environment and open SDKs.
Main specification comparison
Specification | Universal Robots UR7e (formerly UR5e) | UFACTORY 850 |
Robot type | 6-axis collaborative robot | 6-axis collaborative robot |
Published price (U.S.) | $38,363 (with control box and teach pendant) | $9,899 (control box included) |
Rated payload | 7.5 kg | 5 kg |
Reach | 850 mm | 850 mm |
Pose repeatability | ±0.03 mm (ISO 9283) | ±0.02 mm |
Maximum TCP speed | 4 m/s | 1 m/s |
Joint speed | ±180°/s on all joints | 180°/s |
Joint range | ±360° on all six joints | J1, J4, J6 ±360°; J2 ±132°; J3 −242° to 3.5°; J5 ±124° |
Arm weight | 20.6 kg (including cable) | 20 kg (arm only) |
Footprint | Ø151 mm | Ø190 mm |
Materials | Aluminum, plastic, steel | Aluminum, carbon fiber |
Protection rating | Arm IP54, control box IP44 | Not specified in manufacturer data |
Cleanroom | Not listed on current datasheet | ISO Class 5 |
Operating temperature | 0–50 °C | 0–50 °C |
Noise | Below 65 dB(A) | Not specified in manufacturer data |
Power | 570 W maximum | 240 W typical, 1,000 W maximum |
Force sensing | Built-in 6-axis force/torque sensor at the tool flange | Optional external 6-axis force/torque sensor |
Safety | 23 configurable safety functions; EN ISO 13849-1 PLd Cat. 3; EN ISO 10218-1 | Collision detection; CE |
Tool I/O | 2 DI, 2 DO, 2 AI or 1 RS485; 12/24 V, up to 1.5 A | 2 DI, 2 DO, 2 AI, 1 RS485 (Modbus RTU) |
Controller I/O | 16 DI, 16 DO, 2 AI, 2 AO, 4 quadrature inputs | 8 CI + 8 DI, 8 CO + 8 DO, 2 AI, 2 AO |
Industrial protocols | Modbus TCP, EtherNet/IP, PROFINET with PROFIsafe, ROS/ROS2 | Ethernet, RS485, Python/C++ SDK, ROS/ROS2 |
Programming | 12-inch teach pendant with PolyScope | UFACTORY Studio in a web browser, Python/C++ SDK |
Mounting | Any orientation | Any orientation |
Warranty | Confirm with the selling distributor | 1 year |
Best overall advantage | Payload, speed, certified safety, ecosystem | Price, repeatability, open programming |
Price comparison
Price is the largest single difference between these two robots.
Universal Robots sells through distributors and does not publish a global list price. Vention, a U.S. automation supplier, lists the UR7e at $38,363, shipped with its matching control box and teach pendant. UFACTORY lists the 850 at $9,899 on its own website with the control box included, and promotes configurations starting from $8,999. RobotShop's U.S. store lists the 850 with a DC control box at $10,258.86.
UR7e (formerly UR5e): $38,363
UFACTORY 850: $9,899
Difference: $28,464
The UR7e listing is about 3.9 times the UFACTORY 850 price
The UFACTORY 850 costs roughly 74% less
These are hardware prices. Neither figure includes grippers, vision, guarding, integration, training or freight. A buyer should still request itemized quotations, but the gap is wide enough that it shapes most projects: for the price of one UR7e, a team could buy close to four UFACTORY 850 arms.
The UR7e price buys more than the arm: built-in force sensing, PLd Category 3 safety functions, PROFINET and EtherNet/IP support out of the box, and access to the UR+ accessory ecosystem. Those items can reduce integration time and the cost of add-on hardware.
Payload
The UR7e carries a rated payload of 7.5 kg, compared with 5 kg for the UFACTORY 850. That 2.5 kg margin is meaningful once the end effector is included. A two-finger electric gripper, a quick changer, a camera and cables can consume 1.5–2.5 kg before any part is picked.
For light pick-and-place, inspection and screwdriving, 5 kg is often enough. For machine tending with heavier billets, packaging with multi-part grippers, or tools such as a sander or dispenser, the UR7e gives more headroom. In both cases the usable payload depends on the center-of-gravity offset, so buyers should check each manufacturer's payload curve against the real tool.
Reach and workspace
Both robots publish 850 mm of reach, so neither has a reach advantage on paper.
The difference is in the joint ranges. Every UR7e joint rotates ±360°, which simplifies cable routing and gives flexibility around the base. The UFACTORY 850 publishes ±360° on joints 1, 4 and 6, with narrower ranges on joints 2, 3 and 5. For most bench and machine-tending cells this is not limiting, but tasks that need the arm to reach behind or below its base should be checked in simulation first.
The UR7e also has the smaller footprint, Ø151 mm versus Ø190 mm, which can matter on crowded benches, carts and mobile platforms.
Repeatability and precision

The UFACTORY 850 publishes ±0.02 mm repeatability, against ±0.03 mm for the UR7e. On paper the 850 is the tighter specification.
In practice, both values are more precise than most pick-and-place, packaging and machine-tending work requires. Real accuracy also depends on fixture stiffness, tool design, calibration, temperature and payload. The UR value is published to the ISO 9283 test method, which makes it easy to compare against other arms tested the same way.
Speed and cycle time
The UR7e lists a maximum tool speed of 4 m/s, compared with 1 m/s for the UFACTORY 850. Both robots publish joint speeds of 180°/s.
Maximum speed is rarely used in collaborative operation, because a risk assessment usually limits speed near people. In fenced or partly guarded cells, however, the UR7e's higher speed ceiling can shorten cycle time on longer moves. Cycle-time trials with the real payload are the best way to confirm the difference for a given task.
Safety and force sensing
This is one of the clearest areas of difference.
The UR7e includes 23 configurable safety functions certified to EN ISO 13849-1, PLd Category 3, and complies with EN ISO 10218-1. It also has a built-in six-axis force/torque sensor at the tool flange, rated to ±50 N and ±10 Nm. That sensor supports force-controlled tasks such as polishing, insertion and part fitting without extra hardware.
The UFACTORY 850 offers collision detection and carries CE marking. Force-controlled work requires an additional force/torque sensor, which UFACTORY sells separately. For projects that need a documented safety rating for the robot controller, the UR7e currently provides the more complete published certification.
Neither robot is automatically safe in every application. The full cell, including the gripper, the part and the surrounding equipment, still needs a risk assessment.
Controller, programming and connectivity
Universal Robots UR7e
The UR7e is programmed through a 12-inch teach pendant running PolyScope, which is widely used in training programs and by integrators. The control box offers 16 digital inputs, 16 digital outputs, 2 analog inputs, 2 analog outputs and 4 quadrature inputs. Modbus TCP, EtherNet/IP, PROFINET with PROFIsafe and ROS/ROS2 are supported, which makes PLC integration straightforward in most factories.
UFACTORY 850

The UFACTORY 850 runs UFACTORY Studio, a browser-based environment hosted in the control box, so any computer on the network can program the arm. Open-source Python and C++ SDKs and ready ROS/ROS2 packages make it popular with developers and research labs. The controller provides 16 digital inputs and 16 digital outputs across its configurable and general-purpose channels, plus 2 analog inputs and 2 analog outputs. Communication is over Ethernet and RS485. UFACTORY also offers both an AC control box and a compact DC box, which is useful for mobile robots and battery-powered platforms.
Ecosystem, support and availability
Universal Robots has the largest cobot accessory ecosystem, with UR+ certified grippers, vision systems, screwdrivers and software kits designed to plug into PolyScope. Its distributor and integrator network is extensive in North America and Europe, and Vention lists the UR7e as shipping the next day.
UFACTORY sells direct and through online resellers such as RobotShop, and offers its own grippers, vacuum tools, force sensor and linear motor. The manufacturer quotes a one-year warranty and a typical lead time of two to three months for the 850, so purchase planning should allow for that.
Best applications for the UR7e (formerly UR5e)
Machine tending with heavier parts or multi-part grippers
Packaging and case packing
Force-controlled finishing, polishing and insertion
Screwdriving and assembly where certified safety functions are required
Lines that rely on PROFINET or EtherNet/IP PLC integration
Projects that need UR+ accessories and broad integrator support
Best applications for the UFACTORY 850
Budget-sensitive pick-and-place and light assembly
Research, robot learning and university labs
Education and training cells
Vision-guided sorting and inspection
Mobile manipulation using the DC control box
Multi-robot deployments where hardware cost drives the decision
UR7e (formerly UR5e) advantages

7.5 kg rated payload, 2.5 kg more than the UFACTORY 850
4 m/s maximum tool speed
23 safety functions certified to PLd Category 3
Built-in six-axis force/torque sensor
±360° on every joint
Native PROFINET, EtherNet/IP and Modbus TCP
Large UR+ ecosystem and integrator network
Next-day shipping listed in the U.S.
UR7e (formerly UR5e) limitations
About 3.9 times the listed price of the UFACTORY 850
Looser published repeatability (±0.03 mm)
Larger, heavier control box
Warranty and support terms vary by distributor
UFACTORY 850 advantages
Listed at $9,899 with the control box included
Tighter published repeatability (±0.02 mm)
Same 850 mm reach
Browser-based programming plus open Python/C++ SDKs and ROS/ROS2
AC or DC control box options
ISO Class 5 cleanroom rating
UFACTORY 850 limitations
5 kg rated payload
1 m/s maximum tool speed
No published IP rating
Force sensing requires an optional sensor
Safety certification is less detailed than the UR7e
Quoted lead time of two to three months
Final verdict
Choose the UR7e (formerly UR5e) when the project needs more payload, higher speed, certified safety functions, built-in force sensing or straightforward PLC integration. Its higher price is easier to justify in production cells where uptime, integrator support and documented safety matter more than hardware cost.
Choose the UFACTORY 850 when budget, repeatability and open programming are the priorities. For research labs, education, prototyping, vision-guided picking and deployments that need several arms, it offers the same 850 mm reach at roughly a quarter of the listed price.
For many light pick-and-place and inspection tasks, both robots will do the job. The decision then comes down to how much the project values the UR ecosystem and safety certification against a large saving on hardware.
Read our full UR5e review and UFACTORY 850 review for more detail on each robot.
Sources
Frequently asked questions
Is the UR5e still available?
Universal Robots now offers the UR5e platform as the UR7e, which it describes as the next evolution of the UR5e. The UR7e keeps the 850 mm reach and ±0.03 mm repeatability and raises the rated payload to 7.5 kg.
Which is cheaper, the UR5e/UR7e or the UFACTORY 850?
The UFACTORY 850 is listed at $9,899 on the manufacturer's website. The UR7e is listed at $38,363 by Vention in the U.S., including the control box and teach pendant.
Do both robots have the same reach?
Yes. Both publish an 850 mm reach.
Which robot has the higher payload?
The UR7e is rated at 7.5 kg. The UFACTORY 850 is rated at 5 kg.
Which robot is more repeatable?
The UFACTORY 850 publishes ±0.02 mm. The UR7e publishes ±0.03 mm, tested to ISO 9283.
Which robot is faster?
The UR7e lists a maximum tool speed of 4 m/s. The UFACTORY 850 lists 1 m/s. Both publish joint speeds of 180°/s.
Does either robot have built-in force sensing?
The UR7e has a built-in six-axis force/torque sensor at the tool flange. The UFACTORY 850 uses an optional external force/torque sensor.
Which robot has better safety certification?
The UR7e publishes 23 safety functions certified to EN ISO 13849-1 PLd Category 3 and compliance with EN ISO 10218-1. The UFACTORY 850 offers collision detection and CE marking.
Can the UFACTORY 850 be programmed in Python?
Yes. UFACTORY provides open-source Python and C++ SDKs and ROS/ROS2 packages, in addition to the browser-based UFACTORY Studio.
Which robot is better for PLC integration?
The UR7e supports Modbus TCP, EtherNet/IP and PROFINET with PROFIsafe as standard, which suits PLC-based factory lines.
Which robot should I buy?
Choose the UR7e for payload, speed, certified safety and ecosystem support. Choose the UFACTORY 850 for lower cost, tighter published repeatability and open programming.



