UR20 vs Yaskawa Motoman HC20DTP: 20 kg Cobot Comparison
Updated: 9 hours ago
IN A NUTSHELL
🔎 THE KEY DIFFERENCE Both are compared at 20 kg. Universal Robots UR20 has the longer stated reach, which may help reach separated fixtures; it does not guarantee access at every tool angle. |
→ CONSIDER Universal Robots UR20 Consider it when extra reach is useful while the compared load capacity is the same. This article compares 20 kg with a published reach of 1750 mm; include the gripper and part in the load. |
→ CONSIDER Yaskawa Motoman HC20DTP Consider it when its stated load and reach already cover your task and its controls fit your equipment. This article compares 20 kg with a published reach of 1700 mm; include the gripper and part in the load. |
💡 THE TAKEAWAY Check the real tool, movement path and safety assessment before choosing. A collaborative label does not make every task safe without guarding; compare complete installation quotes. |
The Universal Robots UR20 and the Yaskawa Motoman HC20DTP both carry 20 kg over roughly 1700 mm. The UR20 is a light, fast cobot with IP65 protection. The HC20DTP is a much heavier Yaskawa cobot with tighter repeatability and a lower price.
Quick verdict. The Yaskawa Motoman HC20DTP is the better value, with a listed price about 31% lower and ±0.05 mm repeatability. The UR20 is the better choice for speed and lighter installations, with a 5 m/s tool speed, IP65 and an arm 76 kg lighter.
UR20 and Yaskawa Motoman HC20DTP at a glance
The UR20 carries 20 kg over 1750 mm, repeats to ±0.1 mm and weighs 64 kg.
The HC20DTP carries 20 kg over 1700 mm, repeats to ±0.05 mm and weighs 140 kg. It runs on the YRC1000 or YRC1000micro controller.
Main specification comparison
Specification | Universal Robots UR20 | Yaskawa Motoman HC20DTP |
Brand | Universal Robots | Yaskawa Motoman |
Listed price | $72,100 | $50,000 |
Payload | 20 kg | 20 kg |
Reach | 1750 mm | 1700 mm |
Repeatability | ±0.1 mm | ±0.05 mm |
Axes | 6 | 6 |
Speed | 5 m/s maximum TCP speed | Not specified |
Arm weight | 64 kg | 140 kg |
IP rating | IP65 | Not specified |
Controller | UR control box CB 5.5 / CB 5.6 | YRC1000 / YRC1000micro |
Price comparison

UR20: listed from $72,100
Yaskawa Motoman HC20DTP: listed from $50,000
Difference: $22,100
The HC20DTP costs roughly 31% less
Payload and reach
Both robots carry 20 kg. The UR20 reaches 1750 mm, 50 mm more than the HC20DTP.
Precision and speed

Yaskawa publishes ±0.05 mm repeatability for the HC20DTP, against ±0.1 mm for the UR20. Universal Robots publishes a 5 m/s maximum tool speed for the UR20.
Weight and mounting
The UR20 weighs 64 kg, less than half the HC20DTP's 140 kg. The UR20 suits columns and mobile bases. The HC20DTP can be installed on the floor, a wall, a ceiling or tilted, and needs a rigid structure.
Programming and connectivity

The UR20 runs PolyScope with UR+ accessories and supports PROFINET with PROFIsafe, EtherNet/IP, Modbus TCP and ROS/ROS2.
The HC20DTP is programmed from the teach pendant in Yaskawa's INFORM language, supports hand-guided teaching, and uses MotoSim for offline simulation. Yaskawa publishes EtherNet/IP, PROFINET, PROFIBUS, DeviceNet and Modbus TCP.
Best applications for the UR20
High-throughput palletizing
Column- or mobile-mounted heavy handling
Wet or dusty areas that need IP65
Best applications for the Yaskawa Motoman HC20DTP

Heavy handling with tighter placement accuracy
Wall, ceiling or tilted installations
Plants standardized on Yaskawa controllers
UR20 advantages
64 kg arm
5 m/s maximum tool speed
IP65 and ISO Class 4 approval
UR20 limitations
About $22,100 higher listed price
±0.1 mm repeatability
Yaskawa Motoman HC20DTP advantages
About 31% lower listed price
±0.05 mm repeatability
Floor, wall, ceiling or tilted mounting
Yaskawa Motoman HC20DTP limitations
140 kg arm
Final verdict
Choose the Yaskawa Motoman HC20DTP for value, precision and flexible fixed mounting. Choose the UR20 for speed and lighter, more mobile installations.
Sources and further reading
Frequently asked questions
Which is cheaper, the UR20 or the Yaskawa Motoman HC20DTP?
The HC20DTP is listed from $50,000 and the UR20 from $72,100, a difference of $22,100.
Do both robots carry 20 kg?
Yes. Both are rated for 20 kg.
Which robot is more precise?
The HC20DTP publishes ±0.05 mm repeatability and the UR20 ±0.1 mm.
Which robot is lighter?
The UR20 weighs 64 kg and the HC20DTP 140 kg.
Which robot is faster?
The UR20 publishes a 5 m/s maximum tool speed.
Which robot should I buy?
Choose the HC20DTP for value and precision. Choose the UR20 for speed and lighter installations.



