UR20 vs Standard Bots Core: Cobot Comparison of Reach, Speed and Price
The Universal Robots UR20 and the Standard Bots Core cover heavy handling at very different prices. The UR20 carries 2 kg more, reaches 450 mm further, is faster and rated IP65. The Core repeats far more tightly and costs about half as much.
Quick verdict. The UR20 is the better choice for palletizing and high-throughput lines, with 20 kg payload, 1750 mm reach, a 5 m/s tool speed and IP65. The Standard Bots Core is the value choice for precise heavy handling, with ±0.025 mm repeatability, no-code programming and a listed price about 49% lower.
UR20 and Standard Bots Core at a glance
The UR20 carries 20 kg over 1750 mm, repeats to ±0.1 mm, weighs 64 kg and is rated IP65.
The Standard Bots Core carries 18 kg over 1300 mm, repeats to ±0.025 mm and moves at up to 3 m/s. Standard Bots does not publish its arm weight or protection rating.
Main specification comparison
Specification | Universal Robots UR20 | Standard Bots Core |
Brand | Universal Robots | Standard Bots |
Listed price | $72,100 | $37,000 |
Payload | 20 kg | 18 kg |
Reach | 1750 mm | 1300 mm |
Repeatability | ±0.1 mm | ±0.025 mm |
Axes | 6 | 6 |
Speed | 5 m/s maximum TCP speed | Up to 3 m/s |
Arm weight | 64 kg | Not specified |
IP rating | IP65 | Not specified |
Price comparison

UR20: listed from $72,100
Standard Bots Core: listed from $37,000
Difference: $35,100
The Core costs roughly 49% less
Standard Bots also offers the Core on a lease.
Reach, payload and speed
The UR20 carries 20 kg, 2 kg more, and reaches 1750 mm, 450 mm more than the Core. Universal Robots publishes a 5 m/s maximum tool speed against 3 m/s for the Core. Full-height pallets and wide conveyor layouts favor the UR20.
Precision and programming

Standard Bots publishes ±0.025 mm repeatability for the Core against ±0.1 mm for the UR20. The Core is programmed on a touchscreen without code, can be ordered with built-in 3D vision and stands on a portable base that does not need to be bolted down.
Protection and sensing
The UR20 is rated IP65 and ISO Class 4, weighs 64 kg and has a built-in ±200 N / ±20 Nm force/torque sensor, with PROFINET, EtherNet/IP, Modbus TCP and ROS/ROS2 support. Standard Bots does not list the Core's protection rating or arm weight on its product page.
Best applications for the UR20

Palletizing up to full pallet height
Wet or dusty end-of-line areas
High-throughput handling
Best applications for the Standard Bots Core
Precise heavy handling
Fast no-code deployment
Leased or redeployable cells
UR20 advantages

1750 mm reach and 20 kg payload
5 m/s speed
IP65 and force/torque sensor
UR20 limitations
About $35,100 higher listed price
±0.1 mm repeatability
Standard Bots Core advantages
About 49% lower listed price
±0.025 mm repeatability
No-code programming and portable base
Standard Bots Core limitations
1300 mm reach
Arm weight and IP rating not published
Final verdict
Choose the UR20 for palletizing, throughput and harsh environments. Choose the Standard Bots Core for precise heavy handling at about half the price.
Sources and further reading
Frequently asked questions
Which is cheaper, the UR20 or the Standard Bots Core?
The Standard Bots Core is listed from $37,000 and the UR20 from $72,100, a difference of $35,100.
Which robot carries more?
The UR20 carries 20 kg and the Standard Bots Core 18 kg.
Which robot has the longer reach?
The UR20 reaches 1750 mm and the Standard Bots Core 1300 mm.
Which robot is more precise?
The Standard Bots Core publishes ±0.025 mm repeatability and the UR20 ±0.1 mm.
Which robot is better for palletizing?
The UR20, thanks to its 1750 mm reach, 20 kg payload and IP65 rating.
Which robot should I buy?
Choose the UR20 for palletizing. Choose the Core for precise heavy handling on a budget.



